Panache Privée Panache Privée
   Share This  Share   
Florida Grand Opera
Image Gallery

Florida Grand Opera, celebrating its 68th anniversary season of continuous performances, stands as one of the oldest performing arts organizations in Florida. Florida Grand Opera is one of the four resident companies of The Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts of Miami-Dade County, making its home Sanford and Dolores Ziff Ballet Opera House.  Florida Grand Opera was formed in June 1994 by the merger of Greater Miami Opera, founded in 1941, and The Opera Guild Inc. of Fort Lauderdale, founded in 1945. The Greater Miami Opera began as a dream of its founder, Dr. Arturo di Filippi, a voice teacher at the University of Miami. The first production, held at Miami Senior High School, was a single performance of Leoncavallos Pagliacci, performed in English, with Dr. di Filippi in the lead. In 1945, Dr. di Filippi appeared in a production of Il trovatore, at Ft. Lauderdale Central High School, representing the first production of the The Opera Guild, Inc. Florida Grand Opera has a rich history of presenting internationally-acclaimed artists such as Robert Merrill, Dorothy Kirsten, Richard Tucker, Renata Tebaldi, Roberta Peters, Franco Corelli, Renata Scotto, Montserrat Caballe, Jon Vickers, Sherrill Milnes, Nicolai Gedda, Birgit Nilsson, Anna Moffo, Plcido Domingo, Beverly Sills, Joan Sutherland, Evelyn Lear, James Morris, Diana Soviero, Justino Diaz, Simon Estes, Elizabeth Futral, Helen Donath, Deborah Voigt, Fernando de la Mora, and Mary Mills. Luciano Pavarotti made his American debut in 1965 with the companys production of Lucia di Lammermoor.

In addition to producing standard repertoire, Florida Grand Opera also presents lesser known operas by great composers, as well as commissions of works of living composers. In April 2007, Florida Grand Opera presented the critically acclaimed world premiere of David Carlsons Anna Karenina with libretto by Colin Graham. Anna Karenina was commissioned as a co-production by Florida Grand Opera, Michigan Opera Theatre, and Opera Theatre of Saint Louis. In May 1997, the Company presented the world premiere of Balseros, an opera by Robert Ashley with libretto by world renowned Cuban writer, Maria Irene Fornes. Balseros was commissioned as a co-production by Florida Grand Opera, Miami-Dade Community College and the South Florida Composers Alliance. Another world premiere was Robert Wards Minutes Till Midnight. American premieres include Gioachino Rossinis Bianca e Falliero and the final revised version of Alberto Franchettis Cristoforo Colombo.

Florida Grand Opera offers several highly successful outreach and educational programs including its internationally-recognized Young Artist Studio Program. The program attracts young singers who train and enhance their professional skills during a 35-week residency. Each year, the young artists tour the Miami-Dade and Broward County Public Schools in a fully-staged opera production, reaching 50,000 students of diverse backgrounds. In addition, the young artists perform and cover lead roles in the main-stage productions.

Florida Grand Opera presents five main-stage productions annually in the Ziff Ballet Opera House at The Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts of Miami-Dade County, and at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts in Fort Lauderdale.

Key People

Mr. Roger R. Hinkley Chairman
Dr. Horacio Aguirre Vice Chairman
Mrs. Laurans A. Mendelson Vice Chairman
Mrs. Morton J. Robinson President
Mr. James M. Herron Immediate Past President
Mr. Victor H. Mendelson Treasurer
Mr. Anthony J. Perri Assistant Treasurer
Mrs. Eva U. Gordon Secretary
Mrs. Barbara C. Copanos Assistant Secretary

Board of Directors
Mrs. Diane de Vries Ashley
Dr. Linda Balent
Ms. Bonnie Barnett
Mr. Jeffrey Bartel
Mr. Dennis G. Bedley
Ms. Lesleen Bolt
Andrew H. Boros, Esquire
Dr. Siavosh Bozorgi
Mrs. Anne Camner
Mrs. Deborah Campbell
Mr. Donald Carlin
Ms. Nancy Jean Davis
Dr. James Doan
Mrs. Charlene Esserman
Robert C. Gang, Esquire
Mrs. Jos Garrigo
Mrs. Herschel V. Green
Mr. Randolph Gumenick
Mrs. Sara Gutierrez-Hernandez
Ms. Florence Hecht
Ms. Nancy Herstand
William K. Hill, Esquire
Ms. Peggy M. Hollander
Mr. Tibor Hollo
Mr. Stephen A. Keller
Mrs. Carole W. Langer
Mrs. Isabel Leibowitz
Mr. Saul Magram
Mr. Alberto Manrara
Mr. David Melin
Mr. Carlos Nieto
Mrs. KayeLynne Northcutt
Mrs. Barbara Parent
Mr. Manny Perez
Aaron Podhurst, Esquire
Mr. Charles E. Porter
Leonard Robbins, Esquire
Robert Roselli, Esquire
Ms. Julie Todaro
Mr. Jeff Weiner
Ms. Lynn Wolfson

Chairmen Emeriti
Mr. Ben Harrison
Robert H. Traurig, Esquire
Mr. Alberto Vadia
Mr. Alexander McW. Wolfe, Jr.

Directors Emeriti
Dr. Richard A. Elias
Mr. Theodore K. Friedt
Mrs. R.M. Gardner
Mrs. Lee Hills
Mr. Ronald J. Korn
Mr. Graham C. Miller
Mrs. Adelio J. Montanari
Mr. Jos Valds-Fauli
Mr. Morton D. Weiner

Treasurer Emeritus
Mr. Theodore Spak

Special Events
Media Coverage
<< Prev   1 of 7  [ 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ]  Next >>
1.Adrienne Arsht
2.Albert Manrara
3.Alfred Allan Lewis
4.Allen Charles Klein
5.Alvaro Martinez-Fonts
6.Alvaro Varela
7.Amy Millman
8.Andrew Bisantz
9.Andy Boros
10.Anna Sforza
Internal Links
1.Calendar: Florida Grand Opera - Night of the Golden Dragon Gala
2.Image Gallery: Florida Grand Opera 2010 Robert Heuer Tribute
3.Calendar: Florida Grand Opera - Bal a Paris
4.Image Gallery: Florida Grand Opera 2008 Bal à Paris
5.Image Gallery: Florida Grand Opera Opening Night Gala
6.Image Gallery: Grand Opening of Carnival Center for the Performing Arts
External Links
Doral Center
8390 NW 25th Street
Miami, FL 33122-1504
P: 305-854-7890 in Miami
P: 800-741-1010 elsewhere
F: 305-856-1042
Hours: Monday through Friday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Summer hours exclude Fridays. Please call ahead.

Doral Center
8390 NW 25th Street
Miami, FL 33122-1504
P: 305-854-1643
F: 305-856-1042
Performing Arts
Arts & Culture>>MORE FEATURES 
MoMA David Rockefeller Award Luncheon MoMA David Rockefeller Award Luncheon